Covid-19 Alert Level 4. STAY AT HOME!

We are at Level 4 of New Zealand’s four-level COVID-19 alert system. It is likely Level 4 measures will stay in place for a number of weeks. Essential services, such as water operations, waste, supermarkets, petrol station etc. will continue. For District-wide information visit our Covid-19 Information page.

For all official government information and updates, please visit Unite against COVID-19

Draft Water Related Services Bylaw 2020

Summary of Information

Rangitīkei District Council is seeking feedback on its Water Related Services Bylaw. The Bylaw applies to all residents, businesses and any others in the Rangitīkei District.

Summary of Information

Reason for the Proposal

Section 145 of the Local Government Act 2002 provides that a territorial authority may make bylaws where they protect the public from nuisance; protect, promote and maintain public health; or minimise the potential for offensive behaviour in public places. Pursuant to section 146, a bylaw may be used to manage, regulate against, or protect land, structures or infrastructure from damage, misuse or loss from land drainage.

Council recognises the importance of the District’s water resources and water related infrastructure and identifies the risk to public health and safety through unregulated discharges to reticulated wastewater and stormwater systems. It is also considered necessary to ensure the appropriate use of the District’s water resources.

Statement of Proposal
Draft Water Related Services Bylaw

Legislative requirements

This review is required under Section 145 of the Local Government Act 2002. Under section 158 of the Local Government Act 2002 Council must review a bylaw no later than five years after its first adoption.


Written submissions from the community on the draft Water Related Services Bylaw may be made from 5 February 2020 until 12pm noon on Wednesday 4 March 2020.

Printable Submission Form
Online Submission Form

Submission forms are also available from Council’s libraries in Marton, Bulls and Taihape, and from the Council’s administration building in Marton.