Election timetable

2019 Local Government Election Timetable

From 1 July (Monday)

2019 nomination documents available

From 17 July (Wednesday)

Public notice of election – Rangitikei District Monitor and Wanganui Chronicle

19 July (Friday)

Nominations open, electoral roll open for inspection

8 August (Thursday)

Presentations open to the public for council will be given on Thursday 8 August at the Taihape Service Centre at 4pm and at the Rangitikei District Council Office, Marton at 7pm

16 August (Friday)

Nominations close at 12 noon, electoral roll closes

From 21 August (Wednesday)

Further public notice of election – Rangitikei District Monitor and Wanganui Chronicle

By 23 August (Friday)

EO receives final electoral roll data

16 September (Monday)

EO compiles and certifies final electoral roll

20 September (Friday)

Enrolment Services letter sent to voters on unpublished roll

20 September (Friday)

Delivery of ordinary voting documents starts
Ordinary and special voting opens

20 September to 12 October

Voting period

11 October (Friday)

Last day for appointment of scrutineers–by 12 noon

12 October 2019 (Saturday)

Election Day–voting closes at 12 noon

Progress results available as soon as practicable after close of voting

12 – 17 October

Official count – process special votes

17 October to 27 October
(as soon as practicable)

Final results announced

Public notice of official declaration of election result – Rangitikei District Monitor and Wanganui Chronicle

(or as soon as practicable thereafter)

By 18 December (Wednesday)

Return of election expense declaration forms
(55 days after date of declaration of results)