Terms of Reference

As at April 2024

Purpose

The purpose of the Te Roopuu Ahi Kaa Komiti is:

- to develop and maintain a partnership with Tangata Whenua;
- to develop and maintain a partnership with the Rangitikei District Council;
- provide an opportunity to strengthen relationships between Tangata Whenua;
- to be kept informed of issues of concern to Tangata Whenua and the Rātana Community;
- to keep Council updated on any relevant matters relating to Tangata Whenua and the Rātana Community;
- facilitate resolution in the best interests of the residents, ratepayers, and Tangata Whenua of the Rangitikei District; and
- to receive issues for discussion.

Objectives

The Komiti and Council:

- will work together to ensure that both Māori and the Council are aware of all relevant issues and that Tangata Whenua are able to participate in relevant decision making;
- will ensure that the protocols contained within the Memorandum of Understanding Tūtohinga, are exercised in the utmost good faith to ensure that the needs of both Māori and the wider community are met; and
- will review the relevant processes of Council and make recommendations on steps to be taken to assist Council in carrying out its functions and responsibilities taking into account Te Tiriti o Waitangi.

Representation

There are several ways that Māori are represented in the Rangitīkei District - through the Te Roopuu Ahi Kaa Komiti; by Maori Ward councillors; enabling Tangata Whenua and the Ratana Community to make direct approach to the Rangitīkei District Council.

Membership of Te Roopuu Ahi Kaa is defined by Tangata Whenua of Rangitīkei and represent hapū, iwi, and marae within the Rangitīkei District:

- Ngāti Parewahawaha one representative
- Ngā Wairiki Ngāti Apa four representatives:
 - Ngā Ariki
 - Ngāti Kauae/ Tauira
 - Kauangaroa (withdrew 2023)*
 - Whangaehu (withdrew 2023)*
- Rātana Community one representative
- Ngāti Hauiti one representative
- Ngāti Hinemanu/ Ngāti Paki one representative
- Ngāti Tamakōpiri one representative
- Ngāti Whitikaupeka one representative
- Ngāti Te Ohuake one representative
- Ngāti Rangituhia one representative
- Rangitīkei District Council Māori ward councillors that represent:
 - Tiikeitia ki Tai (Coastal) Ward (1 member)
 - Tiikeitia ki Uta (Inland) Ward (1 member)
- two elected members of the Rangitīkei District Council.

*New or withdrawn members (for example from Kauangaroa and Whangaehu) may be accepted at any time



Terms of Reference

Committee members are recommended to the Council from the various hapū and marae groups within the District and they represent iwi, hapū and marae within the Rangitīkei as well as a representative from the Rātana community, identified as a special interest group within the rohe.

These Terms of Reference will be reviewed after every triennium, any change in membership will be updated in Appendix 1.

Terms of Committee

- Schedule 7, s. 31 (4) of the Local Government Act 2002 requires that at least one member of the Committee must be an elected member.
- Schedule 7, s. 30 (7) of the Local Government Act 2002 allows Council discretionary powers in relation to not discharging committees after each triennial election. In light of this, Council has resolved that Te Roopuu Ahi Kaa will not be discharged after each election and that it must recommend to Council, within three months of an election, members to the Committee. Schedule 7, s. 31 (5) does however allow, that if the Committee is not discharged under s.30 (7) Council may, after the next triennial general election of members, replace members of the Committee.

Appendix 1 -

Current Membership – as at March 2024

| Representing | Name | Authorising Body |
|---|---|---|
| Ngāti Parewahawaha | Ms Kim Savage | Ngāti Parewahawaha |
| Ngā Wairiki - Ngāti Apa: • Ngā Ariki • Ngāti Kauae/Tauira • Kauangaroa (withdrew 2023)* • Whangaehu (withdrew 2023)* | Ms Leanne Hiroti Mr Chris Shenton | Te Runanga o Ngā Ariki |
| Rātana Community | Mr Lequan Meihana | Rātana Community Board |
| Ngāti Hauiti | Mr Thomas Curtis | Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Hauiti |
| Ngāti Hinemanu/ Ngāti Paki | Mr Jordan Winiata-Haines | Ngāti Hinemanu me Ngāti Paki |
| Ngāti Tamakōpiri | Ms Moira Raukawa | Te Runanga o Ngāti Tamakōpiri |
| Ngāti Whitikaupeka | Ms Piki Te Ora Hiroa | Te Runanga o Ngāti Whitikaupeka |
| Ngāti Te Ohuake | Ms Marj Heeney | Te Runanga o Ngāti Te Ohuake |
| Ngāti Rangituhia | Ms Katarina Gray-Sharp | Raketapauma marae |
| Rangitīkei District Council Māori ward councillors that represent: Tiikeitia ki Tai (Coastal) Ward (1 member) Tiikeitia ki Uta (Inland) Ward (1 member) | Cr Coral Raukawa Cr Piki Te Ora Hiroa | Elected by constituents of the two Māori wards |
| Two elected members of the Rangitīkei District Council. | His Worship the Mayor Andy Watson Cr Gill Duncan | Appointed by the Rangitīkei District Council |

*New or withdrawn members (for example from Kauangaroa and Whangaehu) may be accepted at any time

