Skip to main content

Youth Awards Winners 2021

The John Turkington Youth Awards 2021 were held on Thursday 8 July at Te Matapihi, Bulls Community Centre. Supported by His Worship the Mayor, Andy Watson, Council's Chief Executive Pete Beggs and Elected members, 11 awards and runner up prizes were presented to well deserving young people in our community.

Council was thrilled to have an awesome turn out of nominees and supporters on the night. There were some wonderful accomplishments by all the youth nominated and we are proud to have them represent our District locally, nationally, even globally.

The Youth Awards is an awesome initiative to celebrate the achievements of young people in the our District, with family and friends. We would like to encourage more community members to nominate young people for next year.

Thank you so much to all our amazing sponsors, whom without you, this wouldn’t be possible! And well done to all nominees!

Youth Award Winners




Runner Up

Fortuna Forest ProductsYouth in EmploymentSarah Kim SquiresRebekah Louise Johnston
Marton RotaryLeadershipAtawhai McDonnellSophia Lewis
River ValleyEco WarriorJake BanksLisa Cruywagen
Hautapu PineYouth in Sport

Kaleb Ngatoa

Emma Ferguson
The Downs GroupGiving BackJessica LordKate Ferguson
New World MartonYouth for YouthOnyx Lye & Leyte Samar
Fortuna Forest ProductsYouth GroupSalt Youth GroupSamantha Nicolson & The Nga Tawa Scholars Society

Ngā Wairiki Ngāti Apa

Youth in ApprenticeshipsTayne Halpin
BJW MotorsChange MakerAtawhai McDonnell
Rangitīkei Anglican ParishWairua for Well-BeingChristian FolauAtawhai McDonnell


Youth Awards 2021 Youth Awards 2021 Youth Awards Overall Winner 2021 - Atawhai McDonnell