

# FINAL PROPOSAL FOR REPRESENTATION ARRANGEMENTS FOR THE 2022 LOCAL ELECTIONS

#### **Submissions**

On 28 October 2021 the Rangitīkei District Council considered the submissions received on its initial proposal regarding the representation arrangements for the Council, and its community boards, to apply for the local elections to be held on 8 October 2022.

The Council received 11 submissions on its proposal.

Six submissions were in favour of the Council's proposal. Four submissions disagreed with proposal, and one submitter did not specify. Requested changes to the Initial Proposal included:

- Two submitters requested part of the area proposed to be moved from the Southern Ward to the Central Ward remain with the Southern Ward.
- Two submitters requested that Council establish one Māori Ward (instead of two).
- Two submitters disagreed with the establishment of Māori Wards generally. It is noted that submissions on this topic are not within the scope of the submission process, as establishment of Māori Wards was a decision Council previously made.

#### **Final proposal**

Having considered all of the submissions, the Council resolved to adopt its initial proposal as the Council's final proposal, subject to the following amendments:

- · Retaining two meshblocks near Turakina with the Southern Ward.
  - Changing the names for the Māori Wards as follows:
  - · Northern changed to Tiikeitia ki Uta (Inland)
  - Southern changed to Tiikeitia ki Tai (Coastal)

The Council considers that the name changes are appropriate for the following reasons:

 The names Tiikeitia ki Uta and Tiikeitia ki Tai for the Māori Wards were recommended by the Te Roopuu Ahi Kaa Komiti. The English translation was considered appropriate to ensure all community members understand the intent of the names.

The Council rejected the following matter raised in submissions for the following reasons:

 The request for the establishment of only one Māori Ward with two councillors, as the recommendation from the Te Roopuu Ahi Kaa Komiti, Council's key connection with Iwi and hapu in the district, was for two Māori Wards.

Therefore the final proposal is as follows:

## **Council Representation**

It is proposed that the Council comprise 11 members elected from five wards, plus the Mayor. The five wards reflect the following identified communities of interest:

Ward	Communities of interest			
General Wards				
Northern	Northern parts of the district, from Ohingaiti to the northern boundary, including; Taihape, Mangaweka, Moawhango, Mataroa, Pukeokahu, Utiku.			
Central	The Central parts of the district from the south of Ohingaiti, through to State Highway 3 south of Marton and parts of Turakina Valley Road in the West, including Hunterville.			
Southern	The Southern parts of the district to the coast from State Highway 3 south, and to the west of Turakina Valley Road to south of Kauangaroa including; Marton Bulls, Koitiata, Ratana, Turakina and Whangaehu.			
Māori Wards				
Tiikeitia ki Uta (Inland)	The district from north and west of Marton including; Taihape, Mangaweka, Moawhango, Mataroa, Pukeokahu, Utiku, Hunterville Koitiata, Ratana, Turakina, Whangaehu, Kauangaroa.			
Tiikeitia ki Tai (Coastal)	The townships of Marton and Bulls through to the coast including Scotts Ferry.			

The population that each member will represent is as follows:

Ward	Population	No. of Councillors per Ward	Population per Councillor	
Northern	2,800	2	1,400	
Central	6,860	5	1,372	
Southern	3,240	2	1,620	
Tiikeitia ki Uta (Inland)	1,450	1	1,450	
Tiikeitia ki Tai (Coastal)	1,420	1	1,420	
District Total	15,770	11	-	

In accordance with section 19V(2), Local Electoral Act 2001 the population that each member represents must be within the range of +/-10% of General Wards: 1,433 (1,290 - 1,576) and Māori Wards: 1,435 (1,292 - 1,579), unless particular community of interest considerations justify otherwise.

Only the representation of the Southern Ward falls outside the stipulated range. The Council considers that the Southern Ward warrants two members for the following reason:

• The non-compliance is required to ensure effective representation by not splitting a community of interest in two.

## **Community Board Representation**

The Taihape and Rātana Community Boards will each elect four members. They will not be subdivided for electoral purposes. The Taihape Community Board will have two appointed members and the Ratana Community Board will have one appointed member as follows:

<b>Community Board</b>	Area of Community	Number of members
Taihape Community	Extent of the	4 members
Board	Northern Ward.	elected
		2 members
		appointed
Rātana Community	The Rātana Township	4 members
Board	bounded by Kiatere	elected
	Street, Rātana Road,	1 member
	Rangatahi Road and	appointed
	Ihipera-Koria Street	
	(including properties on	
	both sides of Ihipera-	
	Koria Street).	

### **Appeals and objections**

Any person who made a submission on the Council's initial proposal may lodge an appeal against the Council's decision. An appeal must relate to the matters raised in that person's submission.

Any person who objects to the final proposal may lodge an objection. Any objection must identify the matters to which the objection relates.

Appeals and objections must be made in writing and must be received by Council no later than **12pm Monday 6 December 2021.** 

Appeals and objections are to be forwarded to:

Attention – Katrina Gray, Senior Strategic Planner

- Posted Rangitīkei District Council, Private Bag 1102, Marton 4741
- Delivered Council's libraries in Bulls and Taihape, or the Administration Office, 46 High Street, Marton.
- Emailed info@rangitikei.govt.nz

#### **Further information**

Direct any queries regarding the Council's decision to Katrina Gray, Senior Strategic Planner on 0800 422 522.

4 November 2021 Peter Beggs
Chief Executive