



Taihape Community Board Meeting

Minutes – Thursday 7 November 2019 – 5:30 p.m.

Contents

1	Welcome by the Chief Executive	2
2	Apologies	
3	Councillor appointments to the Taihape Community Board	
4	Declaration by Members	2
5	Election of Chair	
6	Declaration by Chair	3
7	Election of Deputy Chair	4
8	Legislation requiring general explanation at the first meeting	4
9	First meeting	4
10	Meeting closed	4

Present: Mrs Michelle Fannin

Ms Ann Abernethy Ms Gail Larsen

Mrs Emma Abernethy Cr Angus Gordon Cr Gill Duncan Cr Tracey Hiroa

In attendance: His Worship the Mayor, Andy Watson

Mr Peter Beggs, Chief Executive

Mr Michael Hodder, Community & Regulatory Services Group Manager

Mrs Sheryl Srhoj, Administration

1 Welcome by the Chief Executive

Council's Chief Executive, Peter Beggs, welcomed those present to the inaugural meeting.

2 Apologies

There were no apologies.

3 Councillor appointments to the Taihape Community Board

The Board comprises four elected members and one Councillor appointed by Council. At its meeting on 31 October 2019, Council made the following resolution:

Resolved minute number 19/RDC/374 File Ref 3-OR-3-4

That the three Northern Ward Councillors are appointed to the Taihape Community Board on a rotating basis so that:

- Councillor Duncan and Councillor Hiroa are members from November 2019 to October 2020;
- Councillor Gordon and Councillor Duncan are members from November 2020 to October 2021;
- Councillor Gordon and Councillor Hiroa are members from November 2021 to October 2022;
- and that, at its inaugural meeting, the Taihape Community Board be asked to allow the third Northern Ward Councillor not formally appointed in any year to the Board to have speaking (but not voting) rights at any meeting of the Board during that year.

Cr Gordon/Cr Belsham. Carried

4 Declaration by Members

Members made their declaration in the following order:

- Mrs Ann Abernethy (English)
- Mrs Emma Abernethy (English)
- Mrs Michelle Fannin (English)
- Ms Gail Larsen (English)
- Cr Gill Duncan (English)
- Cr Angus Gordon (English)
- Cr Tracey Hiroa (Te Reo Maori)

I,, declare that I will faithfully and impartially, and according to the best of my skill and judgment, execute and perform, in the best interests of the Rangitikei District, the powers, authorities, and duties vested in or imposed upon me as a member of the Taihape Community

Board by virtue of the Local Government Act 2002, the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987, or any other Act.

Ko ahau, ko _______, e oati ana ka whai ahau i te pono me te tōkeke, i runga hoki i te mutunga kē mai nei o āku pūkenga, o āku whakatau hoki kia whakatutuki, kia mahi anō hoki i te mana whakahaere, te mana whakatau me ngā momo mahi kua ūhia ki runga i a ahau kia whiwhi painga mō te takiwā o Rangitīkei hei mema o te Poari Hapori o Taihape, e ai hoki ki te Ture Kāwanatanga-ā-Taiao 2002, ki te Ture Kāwanatanga-ā-Taiao Whakapae me te Hui 1987, me ētahi Ture anō rānei.

All declarations were duly signed by the Chief Executive and Board Members.

5 Election of Chair

The Chief Executive outlined the statutory requirements to Board members.

The Board unanimously adopted System B for the election of the Chair and Deputy Chair.

Resolved minute number 19/TCB/060 File Ref

That the Taihape Community Board, for the purpose of electing or appointing persons under Clause 25, adopt System B.

Ms Larsen/Mrs Abernethy. Carried

The Chief Executive called for nominations from the Board for the position of Chair.

Resolved minute number 19/TCB/061 File Ref

That Ann Abernethy be appointed Chair of the Taihape Community Board.

Ms Larsen/Mrs Fannin. Carried

6 Declaration by Chair

Mrs Abernethy made her declaration.

I, Ann Abernethy, declare that I will faithfully and impartially, and according to the best of my skill and judgement, execute and perform, in the best interests of the Rangitikei District, the powers, authorities, and duties vested in or imposed upon me as Chair of the Taihape Community Board by virtue of the Local Government Act 2002, the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987, or any other Act.

The Chief Executive vacated the chair.

Mrs Abernethy expressed her thanks and appreciation of support. She was keen for all members to work together in order to see the completion of all earlier projects.

7 Election of Deputy Chair

The Chair called for nominations

Resolved minute number 19/TCB/062 File Ref

That Michelle Fannin be appointed Deputy Chair of the Taihape Community Board.

Mrs Abernethy/Mrs Abernethy. Carried

8 Legislation requiring general explanation at the first meeting

Members agreed to take the report as read.

Resolved minute number 19/TCB/063 File Ref

That the report on "Legislation requiring general explanation at the first Taihape Community Board meeting for the 2019-22 triennium" be received and the information noted.

Mrs Abernethy/Ms Larsen. Carried

9 First meeting

The Board agreed to meet on the first Wednesday of each alternative month starting at 5.30pm. However, in order to work in with Mrs E Abernethy's work schedule, it was agreed that their first meeting on 4 December 2019 would commence at 5.45pm.

Resolved minute number 19/TCB/064 File Ref

That the first meeting of the Taihape Community Board be held on 4 December 2019 commencing at 5.45pm.

Mrs Abernethy/Mrs Abernethy. Carried

10 Meeting closed

Date:

The	meeting	rloser	l at	6nm
1110	HICCHING	CIUSEL	ıαι	UDIII.

Confirmed/Chair:			