Covid Response Update

All of New Zealand is at “Orange” traffic light setting.

At Orange, there will be community transmission of COVID-19, with increasing risks to vulnerable communities, and pressure on the health system. Read more information about life at Orange >.

Our Libraries and Information Centres are open. For more information click here.

Community Boards

Since established in November 1989, the Rangitikei District has had two Community Boards – one for the Taihape Ward (known as the Northern Ward since 2019, although the Taihape Community Board’s name remains unchanged) and one for the Ratana Community. Each Board meets every two months.

Four members of each Board are elected at each triennial local government elections. In the case of Taihape, Council appoints two further members, currently rotated annually around the three Northern Ward Councillors. For Ratana, Council appoints one further member, being a Councilor from the Southern Ward (on a rotating basis).

Members are:


Ann Abernethy (Chair) -
Michelle Fannin (Deputy Chair) -
Emma Abernethy
Gail Larsen

Two of the three Northern Ward Councillors

Gill Duncan
Angus Gordon
Tracey Hiroa


Charlie Meter (Chair) -
Jamie Nepia -
Lequan Meihana
Charlie Rourangi

One of the three Southern Ward Councillors

Brian Carter
Jane Dunn
Waru Panapa

The Boards have a number of statutory responsibilities.

Taihape & Ratana Community Boards

  • Nominate a member to Council’s Grants Subcommittee
  • Represent and act as an advocate for the interest of their community
  • Community Initiatives Fund - consideration of applications from the Taihape & Ratana Wards. The allocated funding for the Board is $7,200.
  • Represent and act as an advocate for the interests of their community
  • Consider and report on any matter referred to it by the Council and any issues of interest or concern to the Community Board
  • Make an annual submission to Council on expenditure in their community
  • Maintain an overview of Council services within their community
  • Communicate with community organisations and special interest groups within their community

Taihape Community Board Only

  • MOU Group Work Programmes - consideration of annual work programme, recommending this to Council and receiving regular written and oral updates from the local organisation(s) delivering the programmes.
  • Community facilities & services - user groups at Taihape Memorial Park.
  • And increased engagement with wider/smaller communities of the Taihape Ward.

Council may also delegate other responsibilities to either Board.