Latest Marton Water Reservoir Information

Marton Water Reservoir Storage Capacity

We need the Marton community to conserve water where possible to avoid our treated water storage running low. We expect the situation will improve over the next two to three weeks.

Council By-Election - Southern Ward

December 11, 2020

A by-election is required to fill one extraordinary vacancy for the Southern Ward of the Rangitīkei District Council. The vacancy has arisen from the recent resignation of Councillor Jane Dunn.


Nominations for the position opened on 24 November 2020 and must be made on the official nomination form. Copies of the nomination form and candidate information sheet are available at By-Election 2020-21.

Completed nomination documents must be received by the Electoral officer no later than 12 noon on Tuesday 22 December 2020. Each nomination must be accompanied by a deposit of $200 incl GST, payable by EFTPOS. cash or online banking (see candidate information for requirements).

Candidates are also encouraged to also submit a candidate profile statement and recent colour photograph. The requirements for the profile statement and photo are set out in the candidate information sheet which is available with the nomination form.

All nomination documents must be lodged together. Candidates should refer to the candidate information sheet for further details.

Electoral Rolls

A preliminary roll for the by-election can be inspected at either the Rangitīkei District Council office, 46 High Street, Marton or Te Matapihi - Bulls Community Centre, Criterion Street, Bulls during normal office hours from Tuesday 24 November 2020 to Tuesday 22 December 2020.

Electors may enrol or amend their enrolment details on the residential electoral roll by:

  • Completing an enrolment form available at Postshops, public libraries or the Rangitīkei District Council offices
  • Calling 080036 6 56
  • visiting the Electoral Commission website (

Updates to the preliminary electoral roll close 4pm on Tuesday 22 December 2020

Applications for registration as as ratepayer elector are to be made on the non-resident ratepayer elector enrolment form available wherever copies of the electoral rolls are displayed and must be returned to the electoral officer before 4pm on Tuesday 22 December 2020.

Election Details

If an election is required to fill this vacancy, it will be conducted by postal voting under the First Past the Post (FPP) electoral system. Candidate names will be listed in alphabetical order on the voting papers

For further information contact:
Warwick Lampp, Electoral Officer
PO Box 3138, Christchurch 8140 0800 66044