Skip to main content

Local Government Election 2022

Votes are now making their way back from electors to the elections processing centre. You can now view the number of Returns from our district at the link below.
Note: Daily Returns will be updated at the end of the day, around 8pm.

Who is standing in this election?

Every three years there is a local body election for the Rangitīkei District to determine who will be the local mayor, Councillors, and community board members. These people help us make decisions on the future of the district and where we focus our resources.

Who represents our council?

Our council is made up of:

  • 1 Mayor
  • 5 Councillors from the Central Ward
  • 2 Councillors from the Northern Ward
  • 2 Councillors from the Southern Ward
  • 1 Councillor from Tiikeitia ki Uta (Inland) Māori
  • 1 Councillor from Tiikeitia ki Tai (Coastal) Māori
  • 4 Members from the Rātana Community Board
  • 4 Members from the Taihape Community Board

See the ward structure here.

Interested in standing for these roles? Find out more about how to stand by clicking here.

Who is eligible to vote?

If you are enrolled as a parliamentary elector you will automatically be placed on council’s electoral roll as a residential elector. If you need to enrol or update existing name or address details on the parliamentary electoral roll, you can do so at any Post Shop, online at or by phoning 0800 36 76 56.

Watch the video below for a short explanation.

If you pay rates on property within our Council area but live outside the area you may be eligible to enrol as a ratepayer elector. It's now easier to enrol with the online portal - click here to fill out the online form - for more information about the portal click here. A copy of the ratepayer enrolment form can be also downloaded here.